Home » Digital Media Lab, Featured, Productivity, Technology, Video

How To Save Your iMovie Project

23 July 2011 4 Comments

You may had noticed that there is no “Save” option in the menus for iMovie, that’s because when you are working on your project, your project is automatically saved as you work. If you had completed your project, you can export your finished project to a video file and save that file to a DVD, jump drive, hard drive, etc.

Here are the basic steps:

  1. Go to Share button located at top of the toolbar
  2. Select either “Export Movie…” or “Export using Quicktime”
  3. Name your video project, click “Export” or “Save” depending on what you selected in step 2
  4. On the desktop, you will find your exported video clip, Click and Drag your video clip to your jump drive, external drive, etc.

But if you are not finished with your project and you want to externally save what you had done so far, and come back to the Digital Media Lab later to continue to work where you left off.  In this case, you can follow these basic steps:

  1. Close iMovie
  2. Open the Movies folder on the desktop
  3. Click and Drag the entire 2 folders, “iMovie Project” and “iMovie Events”, to your jump drive, external drive, etc.
  4. When you come back to DML next time, you can click and drag the entire 2 folders (from step 3) back to the Movies folder, open iMovie and continue to work on your video project.

 

4 Comments »

  • Week 4: Make a Rough Edit « Video Bootcamp said:

    [...] What computer will you be using? If you plan on using a staff machine such as the Mac in Adult Services all is good.  If  you are going to use the DML computers then it will be necessary to save your work on a portable hard drive.  The most annoying aspect of iMovie is that it does not have a Save As command.  In fact, iMovie autosaves for you.  While this is great on your personal computer it can be a problem on a computer that will delete everything on restart, as the DML computers will do.   Review this blog post on how to save an unfinished project to a portable hard drive if needed http://blogs.skokielibrary.info/medialab/2011/07/23/how-to-save-your-imovie-project/. [...]

  • Sara said:

    If I did not click “use” at the end of a movie, will iMovie have deleted it or can I access the movie a different way?

  • Katia said:

    It didn’t save for me. I didn’t use your method (which is why I am here now) and now all my changes are gone. Can I get it back?

  • Mick said:

    Katia, I would need to know more about the computer you are using. I assume it isn’t one of ours?

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.